MAYHEM AND MISHAPS (PRODUCTS I DON’T LOVE) Part 2

Firstly, thanks for the feedback on my Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/lipstick.skinnyjeans/) on this series. I have really enjoyed reading your comments and messages and I write down all your suggestions for future reviews.

With this post, I am back to share more experiences with you in the series: Mayhem and Mishaps- all about the products I personally did not have a great experience with. This post is about some of the foundations I have tried in the last few months. I won’t be touching on concealers in this post, only foundation products (including one BB crème)

*** Disclaimer *** 

As always, remember these products did not work for me (for whatever reason) but they might work for you. My skin is very oily, prone to flaking in winter and I struggle with blackheads. If your skin is similar, you may have similar results

8

Foundation products I did not love:

Revlon Colorstay Foundation with SPF 15 for Combination/Oily Skin in “004 Natural Beige” (R130 at Clicks)

You may be able to see from the photo that this product separates in the bottle. That already spells disaster for me. True to my expectations when noticing the separation, the product came out of the bottle in an unstable squirt. I had to mix the product on my hand before applying it. The foundation is really quite thick. The instructions say you need to apply to one area and blend quickly for a flawless finish. Unfortunately I just could not manage the lightweight finish they promise. I have used two different foundation brushes, a silicon sponge and a beauty blender. No joy from any of these applicators.

The coverage is quite full, but it doesn’t manage to blend into the skin well. I had a bit of an issue with the drying time because it stays tacky for quite a while after application. Also, I am not a fan of the smell which tries to be unscented but ends up smelling like face paint. This foundation did the same slip and slide on my skin that many products tend to do specifically because my skin is oily. I was really disappointed with this because the product is created for combination to oily skin. After drying, the product rubbed off really easily.

Lastly, the shade was also an issue for me. It came out much warmer than I was expecting for natural beige and I would recommend testing it thoroughly in the store before choosing a shade.

Vichy Idéalia BB Crème with SPF 25 for All skin types in “Medium” (R339.95 at Clicks)

The first ever Vichy product I bought was this one. I am so disappointed by it! I decided to try out a BB Crème for those days I did not need to much coverage and I like the fact that the SPF is so high in this product. Unfortunately, right from the start it was doomed. The shade is not awful on my skin in summer, but it is definitely too dark for my winter complexion. The issue I have with the colour is that it seems to go “muddy” on the edges when blended out. I have no idea what may be causing this but it looks a little bit like a self-tan mishap. The application is fairly easy and apart from the colourisation issue, it blends out well on the skin. The product is about medium consistency, which is a little too thick for my liking (for a BB crème). The smell is not awful but it definitely has a lingering scent. My biggest gripe with this product is the fact that the finish and “stay-ability” sucks. It slides off of my skin in no time and the finish is very oily. I understand this product is for “all skin types” so it may be great for dry skin. Also, it moves quite easily if you apply another liquid type product over it (like a liquid concealer) and it rubs off on clothing even after drying. I didn’t see any of the refining of skin texture or smoothing fine lines that they advertise and all together, the price is just too high for what I got out of this crème.

MAC Pro Longwear Foundation with SPF 10 in “NW25” (R470 from maccosmetics.co.za)

This is probably where I am going to rub a few people the wrong way. I know many makeup artists and enthusiasts swear by Mac, but I just did not enjoy this product. The name Pro Longwear foundation might be a clue to my first point. It is not friendly to beginners, at all. You really have to understand the drying time and blendability of this foundation to get it right. It takes getting used to because you really have to get in there and blend it out. Once blended, the finish is nice and smooth. I got the wrong shade (again) and that just irritates me because the Mac Artist in store (this was a stand-alone store, not in a department store) matched it to my skin. It plainly infuriates me to see they use florescent lighting in store! Florescent light is super misleading when choosing makeup shades.

Apart from the shading issue, I found this foundation did not do anything in terms of oil control and I ended up with serious cake face at the end of the day. It rubbed off on my clothing easily even before the oiliness became an issue. I now have this mostly full bottle of Mac foundation that reminds me how much of a waste it was every time I open my makeup box. It makes me sad. I also got the longwear concealer, but as the devil would have it, I dropped the little glass bottle and concealer went everywhere. I still have a little Tupperware container with the concealer and glass shards in it simply because I could not bear to throw it out (although I won’t use it due to the glass shards in the concealer).

Have you suffered from any foundation mishaps? Let me know about them so I don’t feel so bad about my mayhem! Keep sending your review requests and I will get to them in good time.

Next time I will be posting about a few lip products and some eye makeup so if you enjoy these posts, don’t forget to subscribe to the blog and head over to my Facebook page for more of the content I share on the blog

One thought on “MAYHEM AND MISHAPS (PRODUCTS I DON’T LOVE) Part 2

Leave a Reply

