Reasons to write

Writing about beauty and fashion on social media makes me a dime-a-dozen. There are probably hundreds of thousands of lifestyle and beauty blogs out there, and it seems like every blogger has their own special recipe to ensure their voice is heard.

As for me, I honestly don’t have a recipe or a strategy. I don’t have a team of content creators or developers, and I often sit, staring at my laptop in frustration when I find mistakes on the blog that I have no idea how to fix. I depend on my friends and my network to get my work “out there” and I hope that someone sees what I create, and something small resonates with them.

I sketch this picture because it is part of the message I have in mind when I write. If you told me 5 years ago that I would be writing about fashion and beauty in such a public way, with my own name attached to my work, I would laugh because I have never been so scared of anything in my life!

But this is why I write!

I write to share my vulnerability. To show others that it is good to pursue your dreams, even when they don’t amount to what society sees as success. I write because I have confidence issues with my looks, my body, my personal style, yet I know that I am more than the total of my issues combined.

I write because I HATE seeing social media flooded with pictures that fill women with the need to have perfect eyebrows and fake lashes each day to somehow be of value to the world. I review products honestly, because I buy them and I will not make grand claims about something that is hyped up on social media just for the sake of popularity.

I write to send one small voice of kindness into a world filled with so many beautiful people who mostly believe they are not. I write because no one can ever accuse me of perfection and that gives me approachability.

In writing, and sharing and snapping away, I want to speak to you, whoever you are, wherever you are in life. I want to be a voice of reason, someone who says that it’s ok to splurge on a new pair of shoes, but it’s not ok to squander your hard-earned money to fit in with a society that is obsessed with buying things to be worthy.

I create so others can find their own inspiration in my work, so I can nudge you to take the step in whatever direction your heart is pulling you. I create for my friends, for young girls on the verge of womanhood, for ladies who are unsure about their “mom-bodies” and women who are underrepresented in mainstream media and fashion.

I stand for valuing you as a person with a heart and soul before valuing you as a body that needs to be posed and plucked and perfected at any cost.

I believe that each and every woman can be her own brand of beautiful wearing whatever makes her happy. But more importantly every woman should feel beautiful underneath the clothing and make-up. I would be the happiest lady alive if every woman can find her perfect shade of lipstick and her ultimate skinny jean.

Will you join me on your own journey in finding your beautiful?

 

Photo credit: Simone Franzel  (I cannot recommend her highly enough for any occasion photography. Find her work at http://www.simonefranzel.com/)

 

One thought on “Reasons to write

Leave a Reply

