(Almost) Midnight Musings – all about rugby

Second night in a row that I am posting in this new category, might it be that I am becoming a professional blogger? Oh, wait- you probably have to be paid to be a “professional” and some views couldn’t hurt either. (Update- my professional blogging dreams came crashing down when I realized that I never even published this post until 22 days later. Face palm!)

Seeing as it is Super Rugby season in South Africa, I thought about saying a little something about rugby and Superbru. Hooray for being first in the pool of friends (of only 2 women among all the guys)! Hope that lasts more than a week!

The thing about Superbru is that it opens a world of opportunity for more ladies to get involved in what is traditionally a male sport. I’m not saying getting involved as in donning a scrum-cap and lacing up to run out on the field, but more like catching up with one of the national pastimes.

I grew up watching rugby, mostly with my mom. She is super passionate about sport and my dad never sits still, thus rugby and Egoli was watched with my mom. She never really taught me much about rugby, accept that the ref most certainly knows when she is screaming at him through the television. More importantly she taught me to be myself, no matter how loud and annoying others find it when I express my passion for something.

Now my mom (who I love dearly) has always been downright embarrassing as a companion when watching sport. Rugby just seems to be the biggest trigger (and treat) for her. I remember watching her run the entire length of the rugby field right next to my brother as he got his first try in primary school rugby. I unfortunately also remember the traumatized looks on our dogs’ faces when she watches the Blue Bulls play the Stormers, and often lets rip in a string of colorful words that would make a sailor blush. Creative, I tell you.

But when I push aside the cringe-worthy moments, I realise how amazing it is to see my mom watching a good rugby match. She forgets the world around her and just lets go, not caring about what others think of her. That is something unique and rare and I love it when she gets carried away! She shows that we as women, don’t always have to be dainty and quiet and shy. We can also loose our cool about something we care about.

Returning to my original point about Superbru, I really like playing the tournaments beside the boys because it gives us common ground, and helps me to learn about people and their passions. To me, there is nothing more beautiful and telling than seeing what people are passionate about. It gives us a look into their heart if only for a moment.

So, that it my mumble rumble for tonight. Hope you have a great one and remember to show the world your passion and loads of love

Leave a Reply

