(Almost) Midnight Musings

I usually have a hard time falling asleep at night because my mind tends to wander on for ever (it’s a little like heart and brain in The Awkward Yeti comics!) and I decided that I might have to turn this time into something more productive, so without further delay I bring you the first (almost) Midnight Musing…

I recently reconnected with an old school friend, from way, way back. Life just seemed to go its way and I haven’t seen this person in probably 15 years. After connecting via Facebook I thought that her life turned out mostly like I would have imagined it would.

And that small little thought scared the hell out of me! How ordinary for your life to turn out exactly the way people would imagine for you. Now given that this is just a very shallow observation that probably does not do her life any justice, it just got me thinking about expectations and how easy it is to blindly do what others expect of us (go to school, go to varsity, fall in love, get married, have kids, blah blah).

I am opening my eyes tomorrow morning (God willingly) and I am challenging myself to do things a little differently. I am going to make sure that my life doesn’t turn out the way other people expect for me (but way, way better).

If you had to redirect your life to steer it away from the normal, boring, ordinary things people would expect of your life story, what would you change?

I am going to run with this idea on social media and introduce it to my friends to see how they would change their life trajectory to align with what they want from life instead of playing it out the way other people would expect.

That’s all from this tired mind! Don’t forget to show the world some love!

Leave a Reply

